“My Novel is Actually Three Genres”

Pretend I’m an agent/publisher. You want to sell your novel. We’re in an elevator together during your favorite writer’s conference. You’re giving me your 1-minute pitch, and it’s going well. I’m nodding and smiling, not looking at my watch. Then I ask: “What Genre is your novel?”

 

Writing Conference Elevator Pitch

The elevator at the conference will probably not look like this one. (Elevator in Abandoned Military Base on Teufelsberg, in Berlin. Copyleft Avery Oslo, 2012.)

 

 

So quick, tell me. Which genre?

 

 

Tell me now. Talk to your computer screen. Pretend I can hear you. Do it. Do it now.

 

 

Did you say something like “Well, it’s a Sci-Fi Thriller with a Romance, so kind of three genres?” 

(It’s okay, you can admit it. I’ve done it too.)

 

But no. Don’t say that. Don’t ever say that. Even if it’s true, don’t say that.

 

Kimberly Richardson, an author and an editor with Kerlak Publishing, has heard this at conferences and conventions more times than she’d like to recall. During a workshop with author Alan D. Lewis about Agent/Publisher Pitches at the Nashville Writer’s Meetup, Richardson revealed that being unable to decide on the genre of your book  shows a certain amateurism, and a lack of understanding of the industry. In a time when money is tight and competition fierce, agents and publishers are hesitant to take on an author who isn’t informed about the publishing process. That author is seen as a liability.

 

Of course your book includes a little bit from several different genres; most good books do.  You shouldn’t cut down on the intergenrenality (is that a word? I’m making it a word) of your work. The best books borrow devices from several genres. Look at the Harry Potter books – they are YA fantasy, but also have the makings of a good thriller, romance, and even horror.  That is how it should be.

 

But if an agent or publisher asks: “Which genre is your book?” You should have an answer. AN answer. One.

 

But how do you know which one?

 

It’s easier than you think – the one the agent/publisher you are speaking with represents/publishes.

 

Obviously lying will get you nowhere, but if your book is genuinely a  “sci-fi thriller with a romance,” then you have the opportunity to cast a wide net. When you approach agents who represent sci-fi, then that is the genre of your book. When you approach a publisher who really only puts out romance novels, then pitch your book as you would a romance novel. And so forth.  So approach the right people. Look for agents/publishers who represent and publish sci-fi with thriller or romance subplots. Or for agents/publishers who are looking for thrillers in a sci-fi setting or with a romance subplot. Or for romance publishers who like to branch out into romance on other worlds or romance in the midst of a situation resembling a thriller.  

 

If you are fortunate enough to have written a book that spans three genres of which you can take advantage, make your novel of three genres work for you, instead of letting it trip you up. Come up with three separate pitches, and know to whom you are pitching. It’s just one more thing that can separate you from the rest.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““My Novel is Actually Three Genres”

  1. Pamela

    Hi. I own a press, and I don’t care at all about getting “one” answer to that question. In fact, I’ve never even asked an author that question. If that non issue was all I had to worry about, I’d be truly happy. In fact, this issue has never even entered my mind. If that makes me unprofessional in your eyes, oh well. I think fretting over something that insignificant can’t mean professionalism. I have a business to run. If I like an author’s story, they can call it an “in your face sci fi with a kick ass romance twirling around a soda fountain” for all I care. I mean, you don’t have to make publishers look like anal rentive jerks. I just don’t agree at all with this article, sorry. No offense meant.

    • Hi Pamela, thanks for your comment. I’m not sure which part of my blog post makes publishers look like anal-retentive jerks. I don’t think it is anally retentive or jerky of the people working at Kerlak Publishing to ask that writers don’t waste their time, just like we writers ask that publishers and agents don’t waste ours. In this climate, with so many talented writers and not enough publishers to publish them, it’s reasonable to expect writers to know a bit about the potential publishing company, and research what it is the company publishes before they make a pitch.

Leave a Reply

